Reverse Bucket List

IMG_0869

I may have not done extravagant things in my life, but I have so much to be grateful for. And I am proud of my accomplishments, big or small. I figured I needed to do a blog post for my readers to help you all get to know me a little better. So I read THIS blog post about a Reverse Bucket List, after hearing someone from my church bring the concept up. I wondered what this bucket list entailed. The woman from my church began to explain it and how it related to being grateful. So I decided to try it out.

The basis of a reverse bucket list is to not dwell on what you haven’t done, but on what you HAVE done. I started brainstorming all of the accomplishments (small and big) that I have succeeded in doing during my 25 years of life. I hope this gives my readers a closer look into what makes me me, and what I am grateful for! And I hope you each create a reverse bucket list to remind you how very special and capable each one of you are!

Studies have shown that identifying what you are grateful for on a daily basis increases your happiness. And I would extend that to daily gratitude increases positive interactions with those around you.

A teacher is only part of who I am. I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a friend, a singer, a reader, an adventurer, a believer, and a strong and capable woman.

Karla’s Reverse Bucket List

  1. A church singing audition that jumpstarted my love for singing. The audition landed me my first solo/trio performance. I was more nervous than  I have ever been in my life. I was 14 and felt like I needed to do something more with my shower singing. I am so glad I did.
  2. Sang at Candlelight at Disneyland-As my singing continued I eventually joined high school concert choir, which led to chamber singers.
  3. Barbershop quartet-Joining this was on a complete whim. I was approached by my cousin and two friends from choir. They said “Can you sing high?” I stared at them, “Ya”. That was the basis of how I made 3 of my best friends in high school and started a popular women’s barbershop quartet. We later performed at two Dick Van Dyke benefit concerts (ON STAGE WITH HIM!).

4. Learned sign language- Started my sophomore year of high school and quickly picked it up. I was able to use it often after that, and still use it off and on to this day.

5. Sang at my high school graduation with my cousin

IMG_1284

6. Got in to BYU-Idaho for my undergrad

294875_2369921935333_783127404_n

7. Lived with some of the best people I know for 4 years

8. Bridge Jumped (An Idaho Thing)

67514_481201273853_1549589_n

9. Taught integrated preschool as a class-recieved an award for best inclusion for a student with special needs

10. Learned to surf

292040_2296637303263_3305641_n

11.  Served in several church callings that required me to teach, sing, lead, and visit wonderful people

12. Sang at college graduation

100_7073

13. Placed in Utah for student teaching

554005_4303637702049_432790706_n

14. Hired to teach at Title 1 school teaching 1st grade

15. Was in some of my best friends weddings

16. Met and married the love of my life! (enjoy a brief slideshow)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

17. Honeymoon in Hawaii

18. Slid down the cement slides in San Francisco

IMG_1799

19. Guest privileges on NBC 4’s news set

20. Biked down a Volcano in Maui

21. Snorkeled and Paddle boarded in Maui

22. Took my mom to swim with dolphins (her dream)

IMG_5129

23. Started an elementary school choir

24. Earned a Masters Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from WGU

25. Started a blog and a TPT store

25 incredible memories, for 25 years of life. There are many more, but these are some of my most treasured moments and memories. These moments are a part of who I am, and what I am capable of. I look forward to adding more items to my reverse bucket list.

One thought on “Reverse Bucket List

Leave a Reply

